We believe that, under God, the government of the local church is best done by church members meeting together in a spirit of prayer and friendship to discuss and agree on what God wants them to do. Every member is encouraged to be involved and use their gifts.

The day to day leadership of the church is entrusted to our Leadership Team appointed by the Church Meeting. They are jointly responsible for overseeing the spiritual direction of the church, worship and prayer, discipleship (both teaching and pastoral care), outreach and, in the role of Trustees, the administration of the church.

Our leadership team consists of:

Daniel Beckett

Ruth Blakey

Hazel Bray

John Brown

Dave Fennell

Joe George

Jo Hitchins

Tony Goodwin

Brett Mickelburgh

John Smith

Delia Steer

John Stevens

Staff Team

John Smith is our Senior Pastor.  He joined GBC in January 2009 and is married to Karen.  They have two married daughters and four grandchildren. Before moving to Godmanchester, John spent ten years working for BMS World Mission as their Area Co-ordinator for Eastern and Central England. Previously, he had pastored churches in Suffolk and Gloucestershire.

Daniel Beckett joined GBC in September 2010 as our Youth and Children’s Pastor.  He had previously been the Youth Worker at Sheringham Baptist Church.  Daniel is married to Hayley and they have two sons and a daughter.

Joe Warton re-joined GBC as our Discipleship Pastor in 2016.  Joe grew up at GBC before working in South Africa for a homeless charity and in a pastoral role at Daybreak Community Church.  Joe is married to Bethany and they have two daughters and a son.

Ruth Blakey is our part-time Church Administrator.  She joined the staff team at GBC in April 2004, having worshipped here since September 2000.  She has been married to Andy since October 2004 and between them they have two daughters and one son – all now independent adults, and two grandchildren.  Prior to 2004, Ruth worked as a lecturer and staff development administrator at a local FE college.

Lizzie Moesbauer is our youth intern for 2017/2018.

Joe Warton

Lizzie Moesbauer

If you contact the church office, you may well find that one of our office volunteer team will help you.  They are Roger Hickling, Craig Rattigan and Daina Uhnala.